If you like to drive your own car and have been driving in Frederick for quite some time now, you must be aware that you must have your vehicle insured to travel on the roads of Maryland. Carrying proof of insurance is a must, and you will be required to show it in various instances. Some of the instances are – a request for proof made by the law enforcement officer, renewal of automobile registration, and involvement of the automobile in an accident.
What price are you or the other driver liable to pay for the different on-road injuries while driving on the roads of Frederick? It is important to know about your rights and what can be considered a violation of rights. Knowledge about car insurance schemes will make you more confident while driving on the roads. Not only can you help yourself but others too with this knowledge. From the article, let us find out all the information concerning auto insurance Frederick Maryland that you should know before sitting on the driver’s seat and putting your seatbelts on.
Minimum Requirements for Car Insurance
People other than the policyholders who have suffered injuries during an accident should receive coverage for medical bills, which constitutes a majority of the liability insurance of the bodily insurance coverage. Owners and drivers of private vehicles in Maryland need to abide by the following minimum insurance liabilities:
- $30,000 for bodily injury caused to a person
- $60,000 for bodily injury caused as the result of an accident.
Drivers in Maryland involved in and responsible for the collision must pay for any resulting expenses. Drivers can make this payment through their car insurance provider. Alternatively, it can be an out-of-pocket payment for drivers.
Depending on the incident, drivers should pay the below amount:
- If an insured driver is proven to be at fault for an accident, he must pay $15,000 for the property damage resulting from the accident. This payment will be invested towards the repairing or the properties of the other parties involved who have been harmed because of the accident. If there is a lawsuit post an accident involving the insured driver, the property damage coverage can be used to reimburse the required legal costs.
- The drivers at fault must pay $2,500 for each accident for personal injury protection coverage, also known as PIP coverage. The amount paid covers the policyholders’ medical-related payments faced with the accident. Depending on the part of the plan, the insured may receive non-medical compensation, for instance, remuneration for household expenses, wages lost and even funeral costs.
- $60,000 per accident for a motorist who has had bodily injuries in an accident, irrespective of whether he is insured.
- $15,000 for a motorist, whether or not insured, if his property has been damaged due to an accident.
The coverage details mentioned in the article above are not all. Other than the ones we have already referred, insurance agencies can offer insured people other coverage options. Some examples of insurance coverage options include medical payments, rental reimbursement, transportation expense coverage, towing and labour coverage, and mechanical breakdown coverage.
Since several insurance plans available in the markets, in the drivers’ and car owners’ best interest, it is advised that they go through the options of all the coverage plans they can avail of and then take a decision.