What is Gluten-Free Beer?


Whether you’re avoiding gluten for allergy, diet, general health, or even trend reasons, one of the disappointing things is that regular beer becomes totally off-limits for you. This is because several cereal grains, such as the delicious beer-making ones like oats, barley, rye, and wheat, are naturally packed with gluten. Plus, most beers have one-two gluten punch because it contains malt, this is a processed type of grain that is dried and germinated for use during the spirit-distilling process of beers.

Thankfully, several breweries have found a way to make beer without distress-creating gluten. They created a gluten-free or low-gluten beer for the ones who are trying to avoid it. That’s why, in this article, we are going to talk about gluten-free beer.

What is Gluten

Gluten is a kind of protein composite that happens in plants, and it is very difficult for people who are gluten intolerant to digest. Just think of it as an equivalent to being lactose intolerant. People who are sensitive to gluten can have unpleasant reactions such as gastrointestinal problems and even abject misery.

Gluten-Free Beer

Unfortunately, there is still no hard and fast strict standard when it comes to “gluten-free” products in the United States. In fact, gluten is not even required to be listed on food and drink labels unless it is an additional ingredient, rather than being a by-product of a wheat or barley ingredient. Gluten-free labels often mean that the beverage or food contains less than 20 parts per million of gluten. However, this is still enough to wreak havoc on the afflicted. The same goes for the so-called “gluten-free” products, which are produced in facilities and machines that come in contact regularly with gluten that can add trace contaminants and can cause a celiac-affected person to suffer.

That’s why gluten-free beers are often made with grains that don’t contain gluten in the first place such as corn, millet, rice, and even sorghum.

Low-Gluten Beer

A beer is considered low-gluten when it is brewed using ingredients with a lower natural gluten content such as oats, spelt, or rye. Sometimes, manufacturers like to label it as gluten-free, but calling it low-gluten is more accurate. These grains still contain trace amounts of gluten and Celiacs, and those people who are allergic to it can still be affected by them. However, these are relatively safe options for anyone who is looking to reduce the gluten intake for health and wellness reasons that are not allergy or disease related.

Other Gluten-Free Alcohol Drinks

Wine and champagne are naturally gluten-free beverages, and people who suffer from Celiac disease drink ciders as a substitute for having a beer-like experience because it has a somewhat tastes like wine.

Basics of Home Brewing Your Own Gluten-Free Beer

Before you homebrew your own gluten-free beer, you just need to know the basics of home brewing. Always remember to choose high-quality gluten-free ingredients and invest in an excellent basic brewing and bottling equipment. If you are really dedicated to the task, brewing your own gluten-free beer is an advantageous hobby.

Keep in mind that before you order your gluten-free ingredients and supplies online, always check with your local homebrew supplies store. This is because they can have Briees gluten-free white sorghum syrup and the equipment you need to start brewing your gluten-free lagers and ales at home, and it can save you a couple of bucks compared to shipping the products you ordered online.

Homebrewing is Part Science and Part Art

When it comes to homebrewing your own gluten-free beer, you should remember that it is a process which is part science and part art. Whether it is commercial beer or home-brewed beer, gluten-free beer is typically made using a liquid called gluten-free sorghum extracts. They are very thick and concentrated syrup that is processed by malting companies. Fortunately, most homebrewing supplies now carry gluten-free liquid sorghum extract.

Keep in mind that gluten-free beer recipes sometimes need the addition of dry corn dextrose or rice syrup that can affect the alcohol content of your finished product. It is also essential for you to remember the importance of sanitizing and cleaning all your brewing and bottling equipment. That’s why you will need to dedicate your time, effort, and patience to complete the appropriate conditions in making homebrewed beers.

Share this


Everything You Need to Know About Free Trials to Watch Free Movies on Netflix

Netflix, the global streaming giant, offers a vast library of movies, TV shows, documentaries, and original content. While Netflix no longer offers a free...

Greenery in the Kitchen: How to Infuse Nature into Your Home Design

Key Takeaways Embracing the transformative power of greenery in kitchen design. Incorporating plant life to elevate both aesthetics and air quality. Utilizing green elements...

Essential Summer-Ready HVAC Maintenance: Your Seasonal Checklist

As the mercury rises and summer approaches, shifting our focus from heating to cooling is imperative. Your Heating, Ventilation, and Air Conditioning (HVAC) system needs seasonal...

Recent articles

More like this