Peanut allergies can make eating out or shopping for groceries incredibly stressful. It’s not always clear whether peanuts are included in food, and there’s no real treatment for the allergy itself. So, making sure you know what types of foods to avoid is the only real way to live with the intolerance.
Of course, one of the major downsides to a nut allergy is not being able to use nut butter, which has become renowned as a nutritious superfood and is finding its way into a whole number of everyday recipes. Luckily, you can find clear and detailed alternatives to peanut butter at beyondtheequator.com. But what else should you avoid?
Fried food while eating out
Peanut oil is a popular choice for restaurants and fast-food chains like Five Guys, and without knowing beforehand, you could quickly find yourself in trouble.
This particular oil is popular as it has less saturated fat than other oils and has a somewhat neutral taste. It’s also quite often used in Asian cuisines for stir-fries and noodle dishes. It’s always worth checking with staff before ordering fried food to be on the safe side.
The creaminess in curries isn’t always just coconut milk. Both store-bought jars and restaurant korma, pasanda, and even tikka masala often use almonds or cashews to add creaminess. If you absolutely love curry, it’s best to stay away from creamy dishes and opt for a tomato or chickpea base.
Don’t get caught out by the delicious smells coming from the local bakery. Banana cake, macarons, pastries, and pies usually contain nuts or are made with almond flour. It’s also worth avoiding baked goods if they’re sat right next to freshly baked nut-based products in the store. Cross-contamination can trigger a serious reaction in those with a more severe nut allergy.
Pesto and dressings
Popular jarred pesto not only catches vegans out (as some contain cheese), they’re also a hidden villain for those with nut allergies. Although pine nuts may not cause a reaction, it’s still important to check with your GP before testing out a new pesto pasta dish…
Similarly, some salad dressings or sauces are made with a whole array of nuts. When ordering salad in a restaurant, enquire about the dressing first, or ask for the dressing to be kept on the side.
Frozen veggie burgers or roasts tend to use nuts to add taste and texture. The ingredients of vegan and veggie dishes often combine crunchy pieces like nuts and seeds alongside pulses, lentils, and vegetables. Read the early history of hamburgers to learn how the great-tasting and healthy burgers were first made.
As coeliacs or those with gluten intolerances can’t have wheat or barley, maybe products are made from corn or almond flour. Almond flour is also a popular option for those on keto or vegan diets.
Living with a nut allergy doesn’t have to be all doom and gloom – there’s plenty of flavors and foods out there containing all the good stuff without causing a severe reaction. It’s just worth checking ingredients and recipes in detail to make sure there’s nothing that could cause a flare-up. Speak to your GP to understand if there are only particular nuts that trigger and affect.